Showing posts with label Information. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Information. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Where I Work

Where I Work

A continuing series of images taken in and around my office, New York City’s iconic Empire State Building, shared on LinkedIn
Published in: Art & Photos

Paintings by French Artist Corinne Reignier

Paintings by French Artist Corinne Reignier


100 Beautiful Slides from #CannesLions 2013

100 Beautiful Slides from #CannesLions 2013


DOWNLOAD PDF VERSION:
http://bit.ly/180XRuO [Pay with a Tweet]

INSIDE:

AIRBNB: THE SHARING ECONOMY

SYLVAIN LABS: WHY YOUR ADVERTISING SKILLS CAN BECOME EVEN MORE MEANINGFUL IN THE INNOVATION FIELD

ARNOLD WORLDWIDE: YOU NEED AN ENEMY

BIG SPACESHIP: CREATIVITY INSIDE-OUT: A NEW WAY OF DOING BUSINESS

DIAGEO: KEEPING AHEAD OF THE CREATIVITY CURVE: WHAT’S NEXT FOR AFRICA?

THE COCA-COLA COMPANY: WORK THAT MATTERS

CP+B: PHYSICAL COMPUTING: GOES SOCIAL

DENTSU: HAPPY HACKING: REDEFINING THE CO-CREATION FRONTIER

LEO BURNETT & CONTAGIOUS: WILDFIRE

DEUTSCH LA: WHY YOU SHOULD HIRE INVENTORS… AND HOW YOU CAN KEEP THEM

HAKUHODO: 1 + 1 = 3: A FORMULA FOR CREATIVE ALCHEMY

IAB: LIQUID CREATIVITY: IAB SECRETS OF THE MOBILE SUPERSTARS

JACK MORTON WORLDWIDE: FUNDAMENTALS OF EXPERIENCE DESIGN

MEDIACOM: FREE ELVIS: HOW TO UNLEASH YOUR INNER CREATIVITY

NIELSEN: BOOMERS VS. MILLENNIALS

PROXIMITY: HOW TO REACH A BILLION EYEBALLS?

UNILEVER: UNILEVER'S SECRET OF ETERNAL YOUTH: 30 YEARS OF AXE

ZENITHOPTIMEDIA: UNCONVENTIONAL WISDOM: THINKING DIFFERENTLY TO SUCCEED IN CHINA
Published in: DesignBusinessTechnology

100+ Bullet Points from the #WOMMASummit by @jessedee

100+ Bullet Points from the #WOMMASummit by @jessedee


 Transcript

  • 1. 100+(WORD OF MOUTH)bulletpointsFROM THE WOMMA SUMMIT ‘12 CREATING TALKABLE BRANDS NEXT & BEST PRACTICES WYNN LAS VEGAS NOV 12-14
  • 2. Karma and six degrees of Great ratings are partly dueseparation are the keys to to the shows name.WOM growth with customers. Headlines are important.Television is like hotdogs, when We have a generation whollyou know how its made you dont be running country that havelike it anymore. never been spanked and got trophies when they lost.In the television business no onewants you unless someone elsewants you. I hire the best and pay 2x as much as otherKey to negotiation: pawn shops.walk away whenthe deals not right.LICENSE TO PAWN: HOW WORD OF Rick HarrisonMOUTH AND SAVVY NEGOTIATION Pawn StarsCREATED A PAWN SUPERSTAR
  • 3. “In the end, it’s all just stuff… people don’t fall inlove with the thing, they fall in love with the story behind it”
  • 4. The role of marketing for VISA 409 MILLION earnedis to drive brand equity and impressions for VISA at Olympics,active preference for VISA. #1 sponsor in favorable mentions with smaller budget thanPrior to the ’12 Olympics,  competition.VISA had a repository ofathlete-agnostic social content Team had 4 hrs after Olympicready to go, especially for events to create media andnon US wins. distribution strategies.Not all buzz is equalVISA wanted to ownneutral/positive mentions.McDonalds had mostmentions but manynegative Michele CardinalHOW TEAM VISA STRIVED VISAFOR GOLD IN SOCIAL MEDIA Matt Britton MRY
  • 5. “The job of social is to make everything work harder.”
  • 6. “You cant buy "true" brand advocacy.” David Oehler WheatiesWHEATIES EVERYDAY CHAMPIONS Kristin Carroll Active Network
  • 7. “For many B2B companies, going social is really about internal culture change.” Todd WatsonORGANIZING FOR SOCIAL BUSINESS IBM

How to Create Presentations That Don't Suck

How to Create Presentations That Don't Suck

Check out some common presentation pitfalls to avoid and tips on making presentations that can instead inspire and inform.

 Transcript

  • 1. ARE THEY YOUR AUDIENCE ?
  • 2. 1. Make It Simple Less is More!
  • 3. BEFOREThis is a document! A presentation is the process of presenting a topic to an audience. It is typically a demonstration, lecture, or speech meant to inform, persuade, or build good will. The term can also be used for a formal or ritualized introduction or offering, as with the presentation of a debutante. The process of offering for consideration or display. It’s a social introduction, as of a person at court, a demonstration, lecture, or welcoming speech, a manner or style of speaking, instructing or putting oneself forward, the manner of presenting, especially the organization of visual details to create an overall impression, the formal introduction of a person, as into society or at court; debut
  • 4. AFTER A presentation is the process of presenting a topic to an audience. It is typically a demonstration, lecture, or speech meant to inform, persuade, or build good will. The term can also be used for a formal or ritualized introduction or offering, as with the presentation of a debutante. The process of offering for consideration or display. It’s a social introduction, as of a person at court, a demonstration, lecture, or welcoming speech, a manner or style of speaking, instructing or putting oneself forward, the manner of presenting, especially the organization of visual details to create an overall impression, the formal introduction of a person, as into society or at court; debut Cut some to make a slide !
  • 5. 2. KILLING OPENING SLIDE What happens if I bite you?
  • 6. Sample of mainstream opening slide by : presenter Boring? I feel it too !!
  • 7. 3. POWERFUL IMAGES
  • 8. Why Visual ? This is a camera ! This is a camera ! People’s ability to remember in 72 hours TEXT TEXT AND PICTUREPICTURE 10% 35% 65%
  • 9. 4. USE APPROPRIATE FONTS AND TYPOGRAPHY
  • 10. MAINSTREAM IS BORING Times New Roman Calibri Comic Sans MS Arial Monotype Corsiva
  • 11. FIND SOME COOL FONTS HERE :
  • 12. 5. ICON HELPS YOU TO EXPLAIN
  • 13. YOU CAN TRY TO FIND IN THIS SITE
  • 14. 6. PUT AWESOME COLOR
  • 15. TRY TO USE IT !
  • 16. 7. STAY FOCUSED!
  • 17. YOUR AUDIENCE WILL REMEMBER ONLY 3 MAIN THINGS!
  • 18. TO THE POINT AND KEEP RELEVANT !
  • 19. www.sketchbubble.com Lets Connect:

Presentation Design Trends 2015

Presentation Design Trends 2015

Check out the most important presentation design trends in 2015. These Presentation design trends are perfect for Presenters of all skill levels who want to create modern presentations which blend into the industry.

Transcript

  • 1. DESIGN TRENDS 2015 PRESENTATION
  • 2. GRAPHICS + STORYTELLING = EFFECTIVE POWERPOINT PRESENTATION
  • 3. BRING YOUR PRESENTATION TO LIFE WITH STORY GRAPHICS
  • 4. USE WIDESCREEN
  • 5. The rise of high definition (HD) brings the widescreen aspect ratio of 16:9 to computer screens, and projectors in homes and workplaces all around the globe.
  • 6. MIX & MATCH FONTS
  • 7. FLAT DESIGN
  • 8. FLAT DESIGN IS SEEN AS THE MODERN GRAPHIC STYLE
  • 9. PRESENT ONLINE Deliver Your Presentation From PowerPoint With The Simple Sharing Of A URL
  • 10. FULL SCREEN BEAUTIFUL BACKGROUND PICTURES
  • 11. Pictures tell stories. Stories are one of the most powerful presentation techniques because stories are felt not heard.
  • 12. SIMPLIFYING CONTENT WITH ONE-LINERS AND ILLUSTRATIONS
  • 13. 2.9 MILLION 1.3 EXABYTES 375 MEGABYTES 340 MILLION 700 BILLION E-mail sent per- second Data sent and received by mobile internet user Total minutes spent on Facebook Tweets per dayData consumed by households everyday
  • 14. BIGGER EMPHASIS
  • 15. ANIMATED GIFS
  • 16. PASTEL AND BRIGHT COLOR
  • 17. USE SCENE TO AVOID INFORMATION OVERLOAD
  • 18. CLIP ART IS DEAD
  • 19. ALTERNATIVE PRESENTATION PLATFORMS
  • 20. PREZI GOOGLE SLIDES SLIDE ROCKET

Monday, June 22, 2015

Building a Culture of Innovation in Higher Education

Building a Culture of Innovation in Higher Education

Publicado por Educause. Disponível em http://goo.gl/6C4JoN
BUILDING A CULTURE OF INNOVATION IN HIGHER EDUCATION: DESIGN & PRACTICE FOR LEADERS
Published in: Education

Transcript

  • 1. Created in partnership between & Building a Culture of Innovation in Higher Education: Design & Practice for Leaders Emerging Lessons and a New Tool April 2015 Structure & Process Resource Allocation Capacity Leadership Communication Learning Agenda Policy Environment
  • 2. “The greatest thing in this world is not so much where we stand as in what direction we are moving.” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe Poet, Playwright and Novelist
  • 3. Introduction Why Focus on Higher Ed? What We Learned What’s Innovation & Culture All About? Putting it Together: “Culture of Innovation” Why Education Innovation Can Be Difficult Building Culture Within a Shifting Landscape Organization as the Unit of Change Factors Driving Innovation Culture A New Tool for Higher Education Leaders How to Use This Tool Defining Key Terms Innovation Scorecard Tool: Assessing Culture of Innovation Suggested Action Steps Concluding Thoughts Who We Are About the Authors Acknowledgements Consulted Works 3 4 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 52 53 54 55 57 14 15 18 20 50 Contents 2 The Learning Accelerator By Bryan Setser and Holly Morris Significant contributions by Nicole Falcone Designs by Catherine Lange
  • 4. 3 2Revolutions, in partnership with The Learning Accelerator, released a publication in 2014: So You Think You Want to Innovate? Emerging Lessons and a New Tool for State and District Leaders Working to Build a Culture of Innovation. The publication provided an analysis of what innovation culture means within an education context; described why it's essential that we all get better at building it; introduced a new framework that defines the factors that influence a robust and healthy culture of innovation; and shared a self-assessment tool that educational leaders can use on their path to building innovation culture. This work builds on that effort and methodology, but focuses, instead, on the higher education landscape. Now more than ever we have to fulfill our promise to provide a viable path for young people from college to the workforce that equips them with the intellectual, emotional and experiential preparation necessary to face, tackle and solve complex social problems. Transformative solutions to the challenges before us are within sight, if we cultivate our human capital to respond thoughtfully and courageously. To prepare today’s students to meet our most pressing challenges, we need to build the future of higher education...now. This report and toolkit is meant for universities, colleges, community colleges, not-for-profits and organizations that serve the higher education landscape who want to do this work; who want to reimagine their vision of higher education. Rethinking something, tinkering with it, breaking it apart and starting over, all requires an innovator’s mindset. But how can higher education institutions cultivate that? And who is already doing work in this area to make it happen? That’s what this report works to uncover and share. To do this next round of research and analysis, 2Revolutions partnered with EDUCAUSE’s Next Generation Learning Challenges (NGLC). For the past five years, NGLC has accelerated educational innovation by encouraging institutions to strategically and creatively apply technology to dramatically improve college readiness and completion in the United States. Providing investment capital to expand the use of proven and emerging learning technologies, collecting and sharing evidence of what works and fostering a community of innovators and adopters, NGLC has stimulated the development of a variety of tools, solutions and institutional transformations that are poised to significantly improve the quality of learning experiences in the United States. Because many potentially breakthrough solutions are being developed and tested by educators, institutions, technologists and entrepreneurs, too often they operate with little access to each other or to opportunities to disseminate their innovations. Support is needed to refine and rigorously test their solutions, to connect with other like-minded innovators, and to develop strategies to broaden their reach and impact. This is the “why” behind our partnership. Introduction

Heartbreaking! FIFA Crisis

Heartbreaking! FIFA Crisis

FIFA found itself in such a mess, and how Sepp Blatter has potentially opened up a huge rupture in the global game.
Published in: Sports

Transcript

  • 1. FIFA Background FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association) is the international governing body for football. Joseph S. Blatter was elected FIFA President in 1998 and has remained President since then. Official Headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland. FIFA World Cup started in 1930. It has 209 member associations.
  • 2. FIFA Mission and Goals Offer fans a unique experience to witness and support football matches all around the world. Catch Phrase: For The Good Of The Game Mission: Develop the game, touch the world, build a better future. Goal: Develop programs to teach the world’s youth the game and life lessons you can learn from the game.
  • 3. FIFA Initial Crisis Buying Presidential Votes  Joseph S. Blatter was accused of buying votes and attempting to buy votes for the upcoming election of 2011.  Mohamed Bin Hammam of Qatar, the Fifa presidential challenger accused of giving cash bribes to voters.
  • 4. • Spain-Portugal and England were well in the lead in the fight to host the 2018 World Cup finals. • Corruption and bribery thought to be in play when Russia won the bid. • Bribery expected again when Qatar won 2022 World Cup finals bid. FIFA Bribery Scandal
  • 5. FIFA's Brand Health Damaged After Allegations • FIFA’s Reputation • Stakeholder- Organization Relationship • Millions of dollars taken from countries that should have transparently won the World Cup finals bid. • Unethical Leadership • Poor Employee- Manager Relationship
  • 6. ORGANIZATONAL RESPONSE TO FIFA CRISIS • Joseph S. Blatter first denies any wrong doings in the FIFA organization. • Despite concerns and negative exposure, Qatar will host the 2022 World Cup. • An investigation to be headed by FIFA General Secretary Jerome Valcke to investigate stakeholders.
  • 7. Stakeholder’s Response To FIFA Crisis • Government- Swiss government conduct intense investigations into the allegations. They suspend and fine multiple FIFA officials. • Chairman Frank Lowy has spent a large amount of his own private fortune on investigators to find some wrongdoing with the way in which FIFA handled the 2022 World Cup bidding process.
  • 8. Andrew Jennings Role In FIFA Crisis Andrew Jennings is a Scottish investigative reporter. He is best known for his work investigating and writing about corruption in the IOC and FIFA. The Journalist began exposing FIFA corruption nearly ten years ago. BBC’s flagship programme, Panorama has run several FIFA exposes with Jennings.
  • 9. Media’s Response To FIFA Crisis • BBC aired two documentaries exposing the latest news on the scandal. • The Sunday Times and The New York Times published widely read and very critical articles. • The Guardian ran a blog posted online entitled “FIFA in Crisis Live Blog”.
  • 10. FIFA Officials Interpol Red Notices
  • 11. RECOMMENDATIONS • Re-write the FIFA Code of Ethics and Conduct. • Create a group whose sole job description is to monitor governance. • Blatter must take an immediate human rights interest in the conditions of migrant workers in Qatar.

Content And The Future Of B2B Marketing

Content And The Future Of B2B Marketing

The commercial web is just 30 years old. Social just turned 12. And the mobile web is even younger. In a relatively short period of time, these technologies have drastically changed our world. As consumers, brands and marketers, we create, consume and share massive amounts of information. How does a B2B brand compete with all the noise and reach your target customers with relevant and timely information?

In this presentation, Michael will provide a roadmap and examples of how brands need to reach buyers with stories that help and entertain them at the individual level. You will learn how to create content that people actually want to read and share. And how to turn that engagement into real buyers you can count and real revenue for your business.
Published in: Marketing

Transcript

  • 1. Michael Brenner NewsCred – Head of Strategy B2B Marketing Insider @BrennerMichael CONTENT AND THE FUTURE OF B2B MARKETING
  • 2. JUST 3 THINGS THE WORLD HAS CHANGED. MOST CONTENT STINKS. ATTRACT PEOPLE THROUGH STORIES THEY LOVE. @BrennerMichael
  • 3. THE FIRST TV AD - 1941 @BrennerMichael
  • 4. @BrennerMichael CAMEL AD - 1950
  • 5. Content Marketing is all the marketing that’s left! Seth Godin, 2008 ” “
  • 6. @BrennerMichael APPLE “1984”
  • 7. P&G “Thank You Mom” - 2014
  • 8. Me, 20 pounds years ago @BrennerMichael
  • 9. Today we are all connected @BrennerMichael
  • 10. @BrennerMichael
  • 11. 4.75 billion PIECE OF CONTENT ARE SHARED 1.8 billion PHOTOS ARE UPLOADED AND SHARED 500 million TWEETS ARE POSTED 700 million SNAPCHATS ARE SENT THOUSANDS OF MARKETING MESSAGES @BrennerMichael
  • 12. WHAT IS GOING ON? @BrennerMichael
  • 13. WE TUNE OUT THE NOISE. @BrennerMichael
  • 14. Less likely to click on a banner than… @BrennerMichael
  • 15. @BrennerMichael
  • 16. 60-70% OF MARKETING CONTENT GOES COMPLETELY UNUSED @BrennerMichael
  • 17. @BrennerMichael
  • 18. BEHIND EVERY PIECE OF BAD CONTENT IS AN EXECUTIVE WHO ASKED FOR IT. TWEET THIS! @BrennerMichael
  • 19. 73% OF PEOPLE SURVEYED WOULDN’T CARE IF THE BRANDS THEY USE DISAPPEARED FROM THEIR LIFE. @BrennerMichael
  • 20. Content today must compete with pictures of babies and kittens.
  • 21. OF MILLENNIALS SAID THAT A COMPELLING ADVERTISEMENT WOULD MAKE THEM TRUST A BRAND MORE. 1% @BrennerMichael

State of Mobile Education

State of Mobile Education

Mobile Technology had a deep impact on many areas of our daily life in the last couple of years. This presentations seeks to provide quick insight into the state of mobile technology in education and learning. It covers corporate learning, personal learning and key trends for the future.
Published in: EducationMobile

Transcript

  • 1. The  State  of  E-­‐  &  Mobile-­‐Learning #Market  Data  #Trends  #e-­‐Learning  #Mobile  Learning www.freedactics.com
  • 2. 2 e-­‐Learning „    learning,  facilitated  and  supported    by  the  use  of  informaAon  and   communicaAons  technology..”

  • 3. 3 How  is  it  adopted? Some  Market  Data  from  Germany  in  2012 523 Mio Revenue  of  e-­‐Learning     industry 58% of  people  spend  10$     or  more  on  e-­‐Learning     92% of  companies  use  e-­‐   or  blended  Learning http://de.statista.com/statistik/studie/id/14006/dokument/e-learning--statista-dossier/
  • 4.  ƼSo in 2012 it was already well adopted!
  • 5.  ƼBut mhh, what about mobile?
  • 6. 6 It’s  eaAng  the  world 0 2,000 4,000 6,000 8,000 Population Adults Literate Adults Mobile Smartphones PCs Tablets 2014 2017 The  World  in  2017    in  millions  (forecast  base) http://www.slideshare.net/bge20/2013-11-mobile-eating-the-world
  • 7. 7 Mobile  technology  creates  a  new    context  of  usage.  The  most  important   paUern  is  to  be  “always-­‐on”.     Ahonen
  • 8. 8 77  %  of  Companies  in  Germany  use  mobile  Learning  already.   http://de.statista.com/statistik/studie/id/14006/dokument/e-learning--statista-dossier/
  • 9. 9 are  User    created  Contents Content  Sharing  and  Social     Networking     are  important  paUerns     in  mobile  media  usage…… Share of User Created Content exceeds http://www.kpcb.com/blog/2014-internet-trends
  • 10. 10 …  and  so  they  are  for  Mobile  Learning.    Many  Companies  use  Social   Networking  for  EducaAonal  Purposes.
  • 11.  ƼAnd what about end-users?
  • 12. 12 We  conducted  some  Market  Research  and  found  out,  that  ….. Ƅ ƄƄƄ ƄƄ ƄƄƄ Ƅ ƄƄƄ ƄƄ ƄƄƄ Ƅ ƄƄƄ ƄƄ ƄƄƄ Ƅ ƄƄƄ ƄƄ ƄƄƄ 90  %  of  Students  use  Smartphones   …  and  they  use  it  extensively   30%  use  Mobile  Learning Well,  mobile  Learning  is  not  so  adopted  yet… Online Survey
  • 13.  ƼBut mobile Education is about to take off….
  • 14. 14 Global  mobile  educaAon  market  volume  from  2011  to  2020 in  billion  U.S.  dollar.  (forecast) 0 10 20 30 40 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 http://www.statista.com/statistics/273960/global-mobile-education-market-volume/
  • 15. 15 Compound  annual  growth  rate  of  free  and  paid  educaAon  app  downloads  worldwide  from  2012  to  2017 in  percent…. 0 60 120 180 240 Free Paid 178188 180 239 Educational Average http://www.statista.com/statistics/273971/cagr-of-free-and-paid-education-app-downloads-worldwide/
  • 16. 16 Compound  annual  growth  rate  of  the  fastest-­‐growing  e-­‐learning  segments  worldwide  from  2012  to  2017 in  percent 0 12 1/2 25 37 1/2 50 Language Corporate e-Learning Serious Gaming Social / Communities 41.1 29.9 23 2020 http://www.statista.com/statistics/273946/cagr-of-the-fastest-growing-e-learning-segments-worldwide/
  • 17. facebook facebook.com /yourcompany twi1er twitter.com /yourcompany linkleidn linkledin.com /yourcompany mail infoyour. /yourcompany dribble dribble.com/yourcompany skype skype.com /yourcompany THANK  YOU  FOUR  WHATHING Danke!
  • 18. 18 Contact  us  on     www.freedacAcs.com   support@freedacAcs.com

Ads in Mobile Apps and Gamges 101 @ NDC Oslo 2015

Ads in Mobile Apps and Gamges 101 @ NDC Oslo 2015


There are several ways to monetize mobile apps and games. Depending on the platform advertising is either number one or two. However, just slapping ads onto your app is a sure way to degrade user experience without reaping the benefits of this powerful monetization instrument. This session will cover the basics you should know about advertising with focus on mobile apps and games. Learn to understand the industry jargon, its hidden secrets and tips & tricks to make ads work for you.
Published in: Mobile

Transcript

  • 1. Ads in Mobile Apps and Games 101 Alan Mendelevič Founder & CEO AdDuplex alan@adduplex.com @ailon
  • 2. Alan Mendelevich @ailon 15+ years development experience Founder & CEO of AdDuplex
  • 3. Empowering developers to help each other grow. • free advertising for your apps • utilize 100% of your ad space • 10,000+ apps, more than 1 billion ad impressions a month www.adduplex.com The largest cross-promotion network for Windows Phone and Windows Store apps
  • 4. Everybody loves ads! Right? Right!?
  • 5. App monetization models Advertising is the most popular on some platforms, important on all
  • 6. Why would I want to monetize with ads?
  • 7. No one buys apps anymore
  • 8. Minimal impact on game design (as opposed to F2P) * do not confuse with visual/graphic design
  • 9. Monetize the long tail in addition to in-app purchases (Freemium, F2P, premium features) only 1-2% of users will ever make an IAP
  • 10. Gateway to IAPs IAP to remove ads
  • 11. Not only for monetization
  • 12. Jumpstart your new titles App #1 App #2 App #3 New app
  • 13. Cross-promote with other publishers
  • 14. Mobile Advertising Terminology Primer
  • 15. Ad types
  • 16. Banners • Largest provider choice • Don’t interfere with the flow • Take up screen real estate
  • 17. Full screen ads Interstitial image ads Video ads Playable ads • Good user engagement • Don’t take up real estate during gameplay • Can’t show too often (needs a natural pause) • Can be “heavy”
  • 18. Offer walls • Can be user initiated • Show multiple ads • choice for the user • diluted for advertisers
  • 19. Native ads • Look like content • Can be non-intrusive (e.g. replace field ads in sports game) • Hardly accessible to indie developers
  • 20. Ad providers Ad networks Ad exchanges, mediators Direct deal marketplaces
  • 21. Basic terms • Impression ad displayed to user once • Click user tapped on the ad • CTR – click-through rate percentage of impressions resulting in clicks on the ad • IR – install rate percentage of clicks resulting in app installation
  • 22. Ad pricing models • CPM Cost per mille (thousand impressions) • CPC Cost per click • CPI Cost per install • CPA, CPL, etc. Cost per action, lead, etc.
  • 23. KPIs for Advertisers
  • 24. CTR – click-through rate Percentage of ad impressions resulting in clicks perfecting ad copy and campaign targeting Improve by
  • 25. IR – install rate Percentage of clicks resulting in app installation (for app/game advertisers) perfecting store listing, ad copy relevance (sometimes at the expense of CTR) Improve by
  • 26. CPI – cost per install For app/game advertisers increasing both CTR and IR Improve by
  • 27. ROI – return on investment Based on “deeper” internal metrics acquiring better users cheaper (trial & error, previous experience) Improve by
  • 28. KPIs for Publishers Just 2 things you actually care about
  • 29. eCPM Effective CPM – any ad sales model converted to CPM
  • 30. CPC → eCPM 𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 1,000 Example: • CPC = $0.10 • CTR = 1% (0.01) 𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = $0.10 × 0.01 × 1,000 = $1
  • 31. CPI → eCPM 𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 𝐼𝐼𝐼𝐼 × 1,000 Example: • CPI = $1 • CTR = 1% (0.01) • IR = 10% (0.1) 𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = $1 × 0.01 × 0.1 × 1,000 = $1
  • 32. Fill rate A concept most developers are not familiar with
  • 33. Fill rate – percentage of ad requests resulting in ad impression Requests made Ads received • Almost never 100% for a single ad provider • Can vary dramatically based on the region and other factors • Smaato: “Worldwide, the average ad network fill rate was 10% in Q3 2011”
  • 34. Mitigating low fill rate Ad Provider 1 Ad Provider 2 Ad Provider N Cross promotion or “house ad”
  • 35. Last step – something with 100% fill rate • House ads – ads for your other apps or services, “public service” ads • Cross-promotion ad for a partner publisher • Cross-promotion network
  • 36. When monetizing with ads pay attention to…
  • 37. Some providers may calculate eCPM disregarding the fill rate Impressions Clicks CPC eCPM 1,000 10 $0.1 $1 Requests Impressions Clicks CPC eCPM 2,000 1,000 10 $0.1 $0.5 VS
  • 38. Real life example Microsoft pubCenter Google AdMob Actual fill rate adjusted eCPM = $421.96/2,423.53 = $0.17 (data available, but not reported explicitly) Actual fill rate adjusted eCPM = $98.65/1,302.563 = $0.08 (explicitly reported as Request RPM) Source: Imran Shafiq - https://danglingneuron.wordpress.com/2015/06/10/windows-phone-ad-network-review-part-2/
  • 39. It is incorrect to directly compare eCPM for different ad types $1 eCPM $5 eCPM VS
  • 40. Can you control minimum bid? Otherwise you may end up selling your space for pennies
  • 41. Why wouldn’t I monetize with ads?
  • 42. Arguments against ad monetization • Religion, allergy, etc. • Rarely/short running apps • Negative effect on UX (as any other attempts to monetize ) • Extra permission requirements/privacy concerns • High revenue unpredictability • Optimizing ad revenue takes time and effort
  • 43. Not many good reasons, actually…
  • 44. Thank you! Alan Mendelevič Founder & CEO AdDuplex alan@adduplex.com @ailon download the book at http://adplx.co/eBookAds